Nigerian 36 States and their Capitals as well as their Slogans

Nigerian 36 States and their Capitals, as well as their Slogans – Nigeria is an African country located on the Gulf of Guinea, with Abuja as its capital and seat of power.

It is home to numerous natural landmarks and wildlife reserves. Waterfalls, thick rainforest, savanna, and unique primate ecosystems can be found in protected areas, including Cross River National Park and Yankari National Park.

Nigeria acquired independence from the United Kingdom on October 1, 1960. However, there were only three regions back then: northern, eastern, and southern.

The country’s three main ethnic groups and languages are Hausa, Igbo, and Yoruba.

Read also: Gas Apps That Will Save You Money At The Pump

We’ll focus on the names of her states and capitals, as well as their different slogans, for the purposes of our discussion.

Below is a list of Nigerian state capitals and their slogans.

S/N State Capital Slogan Year of Creation

1. Abia – Umuahia

Slogan: God’s own State

Established: 1991

2. Adamawa – Yola

Former slogan: Land of Beauty, Sunshine, and Hospitality

New Slogan: Highest peak of the Nation

Established: 1991

3. Akwa Ibom – Uyo

Slogan: Land of promise

Established: 1987

4. Anambra – Awka

Former slogan: Home for all

New motto: Light of the Nation

Established: 1991

5. Bauchi – Bauchi

Slogan: Pearl of Tourism

Established: 1976

6. Bayelsa – Yenagoa

Motto: The Glory of All Lands

Established: 1996

7. Benue – Makurdi

Slogan: Food basket of the Nation

Established: 1996

8. Born – Maiduguri

Slogan: Home of peace

Established: 1976

9. Cross River – Calabar


The people’s paradise

Established: 1967

10. Delta – Asaba

Former slogan: The Big Heart

New slogan: The Finger of God

Established: 1991

11. Ebonyi – Abakaliki

Slogan: The salt of the Nation

Established: 1996

12. Edo – Benin City

Slogan: The Heart Beat of the Nation

Established: 1991

13. Ekiti Ado – Ekiti

Former slogan: Fountain of Knowledge

New slogan: Land of honor and integrity


14. Enugu – Enugu

Slogan: Coal City State

Established: 1991

15. Gombe – Gombe

Slogan: Jewel in the Savannah

Established: 1996

16. Imo – Owerri

Old slogan: Land of Hope

New slogan: Eastern heartland

Established: 1976

17. Jigawa – Dutse

The New World

Established: 1991

18. Kaduna – Kaduna

Former slogan: Liberal State

New slogan: Centre of learning

Established: 1967

19 Kano – Kano

Slogan: Centre of Commerce

Established: 1967

20. Katsina – Katsina

Slogan: State of Hospitality

Established: 1987

21. Kebbi – Birnin Kebbi


Land of Equity

Established: 1991

22. Kogi – Lokoja

Slogan: The Confluence State

Established: 1991

23. Kwara – Ilorin

Slogan: The State of Harmony

Established: 1967

24. Lagos – Ikeja

Slogan: Centre of Excellence

Established: 1967

25. Nasarwa – Lafia

Slogan: The home of Solid Minerals

Established: 1996

26. Niger – Minna

Slogan: The power State

Established: 1976

27. Ogun – Abeokuta

Slogan: The Gateway State

Established: 1976

28. Ondo – Akure

Slogan: The Sunshine State

Established: 1976

29. Osun – Oshogbo

Old slogan: State of living spring

New slogan: Land of virtue

Established: 1991

30. Oyo – Ibadan

Slogan: The pacesetter State

Established: 1991

31. Plateau – Jos

Slogan: Home of peace and tourism

Established: 1976

32. Rivers – Port Harcourt

Slogan: Treasure base of the Nation

Established: 1967

33. Sokoto – Sokoto

Slogan: Seat of the Caliphate

Established: 1976

34. Taraba – Jalingo

Slogan: Nature’s gift to the Nation

Established: 1991

35. Yobe – Damaturu

Old slogan: The young shall grow

New slogan: Pride of the Sahel

Established: 1991

36. Zamfara – Gusau

Old slogan: Home of Agricultural Products

New slogan: Farming is our pride

Established: 1991

To sum up, the country (Federal Capital Territory) in Abuja

Slogan: “Center of Unity”

Settled – 1828

Incorporated – October 1, 1984

Declared capital – December 12, 1991

Facebook Comments Box

Leave a Reply